012: Holy Holy

I just spent a great weekend helping out my friend, Nikki, with her first craft fair expo.

She had a table full of her leather goods which ranged from customized fashion harness pieces, to wallets, crowns, cuffs, bracelets, and her beautiful off-the-grid purses. You can find more of her work, including contact and commission info here, and her new FB page is located here.

It was…an experience. I don’t want the negative things to overpower this post, but it’s weird to go to a place and immediately feel like you’re in high school again. Adults had no problem staring or blatantly making rude comments. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled with my Brooklyn surroundings, but maybe not. I remember being in Florida, probably at the height of my trying-too-hard teen goth phase, and no one said a word to me. You can only handle it with your head held high and almost pity their life and their attitudes.

But like I said, I’m focusing on the positive. Lots of good folks helped us out, gave Nikki tips, networked, and so on and so forth. We have to help one another, you don’t get anywhere in life by being a complete asshole (well, maybe sometimes you do, but you’re still an asshole.)

I enjoyed perusing the fairgrounds as well, and it was HUGE, featuring over 320 vendors all from Connecticut. I ended up buying more things than I realized. I can’t say “No” to tiki drink scented goat soap, and I promise that it smells so much better than that sentence implies.

IMG_7978

It was abnormally chilly on Sunday, so I bought a scarf and a purple assymetrical shawl, beautifully crafted by Renn’s Recreations. Renn was a great and positive force at the fair, and her stuff is top notch quality.

Support local, support handmade, we can’t do this alone.

+++

On Sunday after the show: We took a brief trip to the abandoned Christian theme park Holy Land, once incredibly active in the 60’s and 70’s with a supposed 40,000 visitors annually, it closed in 1984. The owner intended to expand the park, but he passed away in 1986. The property was left to the Sisters of St. Lucy Filippini.

I wish we had more time to explore it, and I definitely plan on returning. The property is huge and on top of a mountain (you can see the cross from Nikki’s house).

IMG_7969.JPG

 

IMG_7965.JPG

 

IMG_7967.JPG

 

IMG_7963.JPG

 

Truly, a perfect Sunday afternoon activity.

 

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

